Home Page Image

 

 

DICTIONNAIRE D'HISTORIENS D'ART

INTRODUCTION Il est parfois difficile de trouver les informations sur la vie et les travaux d'un historien d'art. Les renseignements sur sa formation, sur les maîtres qui l'ont influencé, et sur sa méthodologie se trouvent souvent cachés dans des nécrologies ou dans des volumes de mélanges rédigés en langues étrangères. Le DAH est une base de données qui a pour but de mettre à la disposition des chercheurs la documentation élémentaire sur les principaux historiens de l'art occidental.
CONTENU On trouve ici en premier lieu les noms d'historiens d'art mentionnés dans les principaux manuels d'histoire de l'art (voir la liste ci-dessous); ils constituent le fonds de notre base de données. Toutefois, on y a ajouté certains noms afin de faire mieux ressortir le rôle joué par des historiens d'art des deux sexes ou par des historiens d'art appartenant à des catégories non suffisamment représentées dans ces manuels. Mais notre intention n'était pas de créer un site «Qui est qui?» pour les historiens d'art. Le Dictionary of Art Historians est un travail en progrès; les articles qui ne contiennent que le nom d'un historien d'art sont encore à compléter.
HISTOIRE DU PROJET Le Dictionary of Art Historians fut lancé dans l'automne de l'année 1986. Les premiers noms qui y furent introduits étaient ceux des historiens d'art cités dans deux publications d'Eugene Kleinbauer: Research Guide to the History of Western Art (1982) et Modern Perspectives in Western Art History (1971). Les noms figurant dans Kunstgeschichte als Institution de Heinrich Dilly (1971) ainsi que certains noms de la Geschichte der Kunstgeschichte de Kultermann (1966) y furent bientôt ajoutés. Le projet, plus ou moins dormant, exista sous forme de collection de fiches pendant quelques années, alors qu'entre-temps étaient publiées ou réimprimées un grand nombre d'historiographies. En 1996, le moment était venu de donner au fichier une forme électronique. Pour exécuter ce travail, Duke University Libraries a engagé un étudiant jobiste.
DIRECTUER Lee Sorensen a étudié l'histoire de l'art et a reçu la formation de bibliothécaire à l'Université de Chicago. Parmi ses publications on peut signaler «Art Bibliographies: A Survey of their Development, 1595-1821»,dans Library Quarterly 56 (January 1986): 31-55, ainsi que les articles «Art catalogs and cataloging» dans le Dictionary of Art (1996) IV: 20-29. Pour le Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography (1994), il fut conseiller pour les articles sur les historiens d'art. De 1996 à 1998 il fut membre du comité exécutif de l'«Art Libraries Society of North America» et en 1998-1999 il eut la charge du site internet de cette société. Depuis quatorze ans il est le bibliothécaire et le bibliographe pour l'art à Duke University.
HISTORIENS BELGES ET NÉERLANDAIS Monique Daniels (MD) commença à écrire des articles sur des historiens d'art néerlandais et belges en 2000. Elle a fait ses études à l'Université catholique de Louvain (KUL), en Belgique, et à l'Université de Leiden, aux Pays-Bas, où elle a obtenu le diplôme en histoire d'art en 1983. Elle s'intéresse surtout à l'art et à l'architecture du Moyen Âge en Flandre et en Hollande ainsi qu'à l'art de l'Âge d'or hollandais. Après avoir travaillé pendant plusieurs années au musée municipal «De Lakenhal» à Leiden, elle est actuellement attachée au service éducatif du Nasher Museum of Art à l’université de Duke. Elle est mariée à Lucas Van Rompay, professeur à Duke University.
AUTRES COLLABORATEURS Clare Counihan s'est chargée initialement de recopier toutes les données du fichier sous forme électronique. Gigi Dillion, doctorant au département d'art et d'histoire de l'art à Duke University, a dépouillé pendant l'été de 1998 plusieurs livres pour répertorier les noms d'historiens d'art. Elle est responsable des articles repris à l'Histoire de l'histoire de l'art de Bazin. Craig Pepin, doctorant au département d'histoire, a dépouillé les Archäologenbildnisse. Lanitra Walker, également doctorant en histoire d'art, a écrit les articles qui portent ses initiales, LMW.
REMERCIEMENTS Dr. Antje Lemke, dont l'appui et les encouragements ont été très précieux, a mis à la disposition du directeur du projet plusieurs documents fort difficiles à trouver. D'autres membres de l'Art Libraries Society continuent à donner leurs conseils et suggestions concernant des changements importants, sans pourtant recevoir la reconnaissance qu'ils méritent. Robert Woodman Wadsworth (jadis à Libraries and Library School de l'Université de Chicago) a établi les règles bibliographiques qui ont été adoptées, bien qu'imparfaitement!, dans le présent ouvrage. Len Klekner fut le premier à faire comprendre à l'auteur que le développement intellectuel des historiens d'art est intimement lié à leur vie personnelle et à leur éducation. A. Craig Hawbaker, bibliothécaire à l' University of the Pacific, continue à nous servir de modèle. Max Marmor, jadis bibliothécaire d'art à Yale et maintenant à ArtStor, a aidé à créer et à développer ce projet par sa vue d'ensemble sur la discipline. John Little et David Chandek-Stark du département d'informatique de la Bibliothèque de Duke University, ont souvent prêté leur assistance, aussi efficace que discrète.

Home Page Image

 

 

EXPLANATION

"We historians just cannot raise the dead and put them on our couch."
Sir Ernst Gombrich (1909-2001)

"Some scholars, we know, offer little interest once we leave their writings: they are their work."
Hans Belting (b.1935 ), Dumbarton Oaks Papers 1991

". . . nothing, not even neglect, lasts forever."
Leo Steinberg, introduction to the reprint of his 1960 dissertation.

". . . [the] art historian will gradually disappear, no great loss either, you will admit."
Giovanni Morelli. Italian Painters: Critical Studies of Their Works

"In United States, it is axiomatic that the undertaker and the museum director arrive almost simultaneously."
John Walker, Self Portrait with Donors, 1974

"Academicians enter the museum with ideas, art connoisseurs leave it with [them]."
Max J. Friedländer

 

INTRODUCTION Biographical and methodological information about art historians can be difficult to find. Tucked away in obscure obituaries or foreign-language Festschriften, the basics of where an art historian trained or who his/her major influence was, or even what methodology the scholarship employs are often impossible to discern. This database is designed to give researchers a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history.
CONTENT This dictionary is a compilation of art historians mentioned in major art historiographies. Additional names have been added to balance for gender or other neglected categories. Historians included here are the selection of the authors of those historiographies, and not generally the editor's. This site is not intended to be a Who's Who of Art Historians (other works do that job already). Please note that the Dictionary of Art Historians is a work in progress; entries which contain an historian's name and little else are yet to be completed.
HISTORY OF THIS PROJECT The Dictionary of Art Historians began in the fall of 1986 by indexing the historians cited in Eugene Kleinbauer's Research Guide to the History of Western Art (1982) and his Modern Perspectives in Western Art History (1971), neither of which possessed an extensive index. Heinrich Dilly's Kunstgeschichte als Institution (1979) and some of Kultermann's Geschichte der Kunstgeschichte (1966), [the latter then only available in German] were added. The project remained dormant for a few years in card file format. In the interim, a myriad of art historiographies appeared or were reprinted. In 1996, the card project was transferred into an electronic form.
EDITOR Lee Sorensen, the editor, received his graduate degrees in art history and library science both from The University of Chicago. His articles include "Art Bibliographies: A Survey of their Development, 1595-1821" Library Quarterly 56 (January 1986): 31-55 and the entries on "Art Catalogs and Cataloging" in the Dictionary of Art (1996) IV: 20-29. He served as the consultant for art historians for the Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography (1994) and twice served on the executive board of the Art Libraries Society of North America (1996-98). He was that society's web administrator from 1998-99. For the past twenty years he has been art reference librarian and bibliographer at Duke University. He has been on the advisory board for Oxford University Press' Dictionary of Art since 2004.
BELGIAN AND DUTCH HISTORIANS Monique Daniels (MD) began writing entries on Dutch and Belgian art historians in 2000. She studied art history at the Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium, and later at Leiden University, in the Netherlands, where she graduated in 1983. Her main interests are in Dutch and Flemish medieval art and architecture as well as in the art of the sixteenth century and the Dutch Golden Age. She worked for many years at the Municipal Art Museum of Leiden and as a docent with the Nasher Museum of Art, Duke University.
OTHER CONTRIBUTORS Duke University undergraduate Clare Counihan performed the initial task of retyping everything from note cards into computer-readable files. Jennifer "Gigi" Dillion, then a graduate student in Duke's Department of Art and Art History, indexed the books in the summer of 1998. She's responsible for the entries contained in Bazin's Histoire de l'histoire de l'art. Craig Pepin, at the time a doctoral candidate in the History Department at Duke, indexed the Archäologenbildnisse. Lanitra Walker, another graduate student in art history, created the essays which bear her initials, LMW. Neil Stratford advised generously on the medievalist biographies. Corina Stan (CS), a graduate student in Duke's Program in Literature, wrote many of the entries on Spanish-language art historians.
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT Antje Lemke provided the editor with files and encouragement he never would have been able to find. ARLIS (Art Libraries Society) members continue to advise on substantive changes without receiving their due credit. Robert Woodman Wadsworth (late of the University of Chicago Libraries and Library School) set a standard for bibliography after whom this work is patterned. Len Klekner first pointed out to the editor when both were graduate students how art historians' intellectual lineage is inextricably bound to their personal lives and education. A. Craig Hawbaker, librarian at the University of the Pacific, was a huge influence in my professional and personal life. Max Marmor, currently President of the Kress Foundation, many years ago helped shape this project with his insights on the discipline. Family and friends of individual scholars have assisted greatly.

Comments regarding the Dictionary of Art Historians are gratefully received at dictionaryofarthistorians@gmail.com